Perspectives - The Blog

Tagged: Matt Eich


Posted by The Center on May 18, 2011

Going out © Matt Eich

Matt Eich’s Baptist Town project was recently featured with the launch of, a crowd funding source geared towards photo journalism. Eich has received numerous accolades as of late, awarded the HCP Juried Fellowship at the Houston Center For Photography, a 2nd place in POYi 67, named one of PDN’s 30 Emerging Photographers to Watch and received the F25 Award for Concerned Photography.

Eich writes:

In a place like Baptist Town, Mississippi there are two paths you can take in life but the people I have encountered there tread the line between the two, walking both in the light and in shadow. They are neither good nor evil, they are simply human. This is the beginning of a two-part examination of contemporary race and class disparities in the Mississippi Delta town of Greenwood. My goal is to remind people that while we may live in a time where civil rights are taught in history classes around the country, the real legacies of racism in the south continue to impact people economically and culturally, in persistent and often pernicious ways.

Visit to see more of Eich’s work and read about his Baptist Town project HERE

Tags: Tagged With: Tags: , , , , | No Comments


Posted by The Center on November 9, 2010

(Photo credit: Tom Chambers, Transfiguration)

(Photo credit: Mitch Dobrowner, Arm of God)

(Photo credit: Matt Eich, Dialia walking home from church)

(Photo credit: Rania Matar, Siena 17, Brookline MA 2009)

(Photo credit: Kirk Crippens, Galaxy)

(Photo credit: Traer Scott, Tiger)

(Photo credit: S. Gayle Stevens, pool west beach and barkley)

(Photo credit: Jessica Hines, Untitled #8, Chapter 7: I Pray For Your Spirit)

Photolucida just released its Top 50 list for 2010. The full list of Center exhibitors selected in the Critical Mass Top 50 include: Tom Chambers, Kirk Crippens, Mitch Dobrowner, Matt Eich, Jessica Hines, Mary Shannon Johnstone, Loli Kantor, Rania Matar, Christopher Rauschenberg, Manjari Sharma, Yisook Sohn, S. Gayle Stevens, Traer Scott, Daniel Traub and Kevin Van Aelst.

This is an amazing opportunity and a tremendous accomplishment for these artists. Congrats all!